ChatGPT
OpenAI, United States
ChatGPT is OpenAI’s chat assistant. It writes, summarises, translates and analyses files from written or spoken instructions. It comes as a free version, individual subscriptions and business plans.
Who it is for: Teams that want an all-round assistant for writing, document analysis and spreadsheets.
Opens the aidock chat with this listing’s starter prompt, ready to edit.
Key facts, checked
- Price
- Free, then from $8 / month
Go plan at US$8 a month: this is the US price shown by OpenAI. OpenAI sets local prices in some countries. We could not read the euro price for France. The Plus plan costs $20 a month according to the help centre. Taxes not specified. The Business plan is billed per user, from two users upwards; price not shown.
- Where your data is hosted EU as an option
Data residency in Europe (data stored in the European Economic Area and Switzerland) is offered for new ChatGPT Enterprise and Edu workspaces, at no extra cost according to OpenAI. The help centre does not mention it for Business or for individual plans.
- Your data and AI training Training can be turned off
Individual plans: OpenAI may use your content to train its models. You can opt out with the “Improve the model for everyone” setting (Settings, Data controls). Business, Enterprise, Edu and API: no training by default, unless you explicitly agree.
- Data processing agreement (GDPR contract) Data processing agreement on business plans
OpenAI says it can sign a data processing agreement (DPA) with ChatGPT Business, ChatGPT Enterprise and API customers. Nothing similar is stated for individual plans.
- Language
- Interface in French
- Last checked
- 8 October 2026, official sources checked
Get started in 10 minutes
- Create an account on chatgpt.com, ideally in a Business workspace for work use.
- In Settings, then Data controls, check the “Improve the model for everyone” setting.
- Try a simple first task, for example rewording a customer email that contains no personal data.
Starter prompt
You are the administrative assistant at a small to medium-sized services company. Write a polite follow-up about a quote we sent two weeks ago that has had no reply. Professional tone, 5 lines maximum, and suggest a 15-minute call.
Replace the parts in square brackets. Do not paste any personal data without a data processing agreement.
Good for these tasks
Alternatives to compare
Frequently asked questions
Where does ChatGPT store my data?
Hosting in the European Union is available as an option. Data residency in Europe (data stored in the European Economic Area and Switzerland) is offered for new ChatGPT Enterprise and Edu workspaces, at no extra cost according to OpenAI. The help centre does not mention it for Business or for individual plans.
Does ChatGPT use my data to train its models?
Training can be turned off. Individual plans: OpenAI may use your content to train its models. You can opt out with the “Improve the model for everyone” setting (Settings, Data controls). Business, Enterprise, Edu and API: no training by default, unless you explicitly agree.
How much does ChatGPT cost?
Free, then from $8 / month. Go plan at US$8 a month: this is the US price shown by OpenAI. OpenAI sets local prices in some countries. We could not read the euro price for France. The Plus plan costs $20 a month according to the help centre. Taxes not specified. The Business plan is billed per user, from two users upwards; price not shown.
Does ChatGPT offer a data processing agreement (GDPR)?
Data processing agreement on business plans. OpenAI says it can sign a data processing agreement (DPA) with ChatGPT Business, ChatGPT Enterprise and API customers. Nothing similar is stated for individual plans.